2023 Daredevils rebrand and change name to Scallywags

Shiver me timbers! The Outer Banks Daredevils rebranded, now the Scallywags
By Danielle Puleo, The Coastland Times

Ahoy matey! Are ye ready for a whole new experience this summer at the ballpark? The former Outer Banks Daredevils have been relaunched, relocated and now rebranded. The team is pleased to announce their new name: The Outer Banks Scallywags.

The rebrand follows a three-year, pandemic-related hiatus for the collegiate summer baseball team. Founded in 1996, the former Daredevils have been bringing excitement to the island’s ballparks for years. This season, they’ll return to their original field at Manteo High School, with a packed game schedule running from June 1 through August 5.

With new faces behind the team, a new look and a new season on the horizon, everyone is gearing up for a whole new experience with the Outer Banks Scallywags. The name came from the area’s well-known history of pirates. “I don’t know that there’s a more conspicuous connection with Outer Banks than the pirates,” Dooley said.

The Scallywag’s Vice President, Meredith Howell, grew up on the beaches of Nags Head and was always “enthralled” with the history of pirates on the Outer Banks. “Based on trade routes, this part of the Outer Banks was so effective for pirates, not only at sea but on land.” She shared, “It was exciting to start thinking about the pride in our area and the stories that there are to tell about the Outer Banks and tie that in with the team.”

Meredith and her husband Jason Howell, team president, have worked in tandem with one another alongside Dooley to handle the merchandising and rebranding of the team, weaving Meredith’s knowledge of the area’s history with Jason’s love of baseball to create the Scallywags theme.

While maintaining a strong tie with the area’s history was top priority for the team, Dooley shared that the staff wanted to create an unforgettable experience for guests. The pirate theme will be present throughout – from a themed concourse with interactive games and scallywag-
approved social media opportunities, to Davy Jones locker-worthy food and beverage options to an in-character broadcast, complete with pirate lingo and Old English dialect, to a new line of merchandise, attendees are in for an all-out pirate-themed baseball adventure.

“We are thrilled that the team will be in Manteo,” shared Jed Dixon, Manteo High School booster club president. Dixon will also head food and beverage for the games; all proceeds from concessions will go back to the MHS athletic booster club. “Having the team play at Manteo
really benefits our baseball program. Young kids can come in and see players playing in their hometown, it’s really a win-win.”

Dixon said the MHS athletic teams will have the opportunity
to sign up for different weeks to work the concession stands throughout the summer, sporting new Scallywag gear and serving ballgame favorites.

Pastor Marc O’Neal will serve as the Scallywag’s team Chaplin. Having grown up in a baseball family and playing throughout school, O’Neal was eager to serve the team. “I had heard that the team was coming back and would be located in Manteo, and thought about how our church could
be of service to them.” O’Neal sought out Dooley and the two discussed ways in which the church could be involved, such as helping find host families, providing meals, organizing banquets and possibly offering bible studies to the players. “We’re working out the details, but
the way I envision it is to offer bible studies during week, one-on-one time to talk or ask questions, making sure my office is open, meeting them out on field…really help make this a successful year for the team.”

The Scallywag staff hopes that the return, relocation and rebranding of the team brings the community together and gives everyone an opportunity to enjoy a night out at the ballpark. “We want this to excite our locals and our tourists, and give them a reason to drive to Manteo,”
Dooley offered.

Daredevils History…

The Outer Banks Daredevils Baseball Club was founded in 1997, and are one of the original franchises than began play in the Coastal Plain League in 1997. The took off the 1998 season as they reorganized, then returned to the CPL for the 1999 season. The team played it’s games from 1997 – 2005 at Coy Tillett Memorial Field at Manteo High School. In 2005 the team began playing it’s home games at the First Flight Athletic Complex in Kill Devil Hills, where the team has played from 2005 through today.  After taking the 2012 season off, the Daredevils joined the Tidewater Summer League in 2013, and continues to bring collegiate summer baseball to the Outer Banks each summer.

Daredevils through the years…

The Daredevils have won two Coastal Plain League Petitt Cup championships (2002, 2003), the award for the league champion, and have reached the finals four times: 1999, 2002, 2003 and 2004. Outer Banks made it to the semifinals of the Petitt Cup Playoffs in 2009 after winning the first half CPL North Division title and reached its highest national ranking ever, No. 7, by Perfect Game Crosschecker. The Daredevils have also won four Postove Cup Championships (2013, 2015, 2016, 2018), the award given to the Tidewater Summer League Champion, and reached the finals in 4 out of 6 years as a member of the Tidewater Summer League.

Daredevils By The Numbers – 1997 – 2019

21 Seasons of collegiate summer baseball

531 Players who have worn our Daredevils uniform

41 Players who have went on to play professionally

100 + Interns who started their careers in broadcast, marketing and sports management

470 Games played in the OBX

910 Total games played

Over 7400 Innings of great collegiate baseball action

2,600 + hours of quality family entertainment

12 Post Season Appearances

8 League Championship Series Appearances

6 League Championships

6,000 + baseballs that flew over outfield and foul fences to become souvenirs for our fans

250,000 + fans who have attended Daredevils baseball games

$90,000.00 + provided to Dare County Schools through field rental fees

$50,000.00 + raised for local charities at ballpark events

7,500 + hours of community service provided by Daredevils players and Interns

150 + corporate/association outings at the ballpark

50 + birthday parties held at the ballpark

1000 + local kids who have enjoyed Daredevils baseball camps and clinics

Our Record…

Outer Banks Daredevils

YearRegular SeasonPost-season
RecordWin %FinishRecordWin %Result
COASTAL PLAIN LEAGUE (1997, 1999-2011)
200228–21.5712nd4–1.800Won Petitt Cup Championship
200328–21.5714th3–01.000Won Petitt Cup Championship
200424–22.5115th3–2.600Lost in Petitt Cup Championship
200827–28.4917th0—1.000Lost in Round One
200932–23.5824th2—2.500Lost in Round Two


201320 – 70.7411st3 – 10.500Won Postove Cup Championship
201421 – 70.7502nd3 – 20.600Lost in Postove Cup Championship
201514 – 90.6091st1 – 10.500Won Postove Cup Championship
201612 – 40.7501st0 – 0Won Postove Cup Championship
20178 – 80.5003rd1 – 10.500Lost in Playoffs
201820 – 60.7691st4 – 01.000Won Postove Cup Championship
201911 – 70.6113rd1 – 20.333Lost in Playoffs
Totals456 – 4160.521 25 – 130.6866 League Championships
Overall Record (all games)  481 – 429


2002 – Coastal Plain League Champions

2003 – Coastal Plain League Champions

2013 – Tidewater Summer League Champions

2015 – Tidewater Summer League Champions

2016 – Tidewater Summer League Champions

2018 – Tidewater Summer League Champions


2013 best of the beach winner

Collegiate summer baseball team, located in the Outer Banks of North Carolina & members of the Premier Collegiate League.